Posted by: nybrave08 | May 7, 2008

R/C Planes of Gargantuan Scale

Hello world,

Originally I aspired to build a full-scale powered hang glider with myself as the pilot, and I envisioned soaring above the trees in glory. But now, due to cost cuts and the fact that my deadline is in one week, I have decided to change my project to an 8-10 foot wide R/C hang glider. You wouldn’t believe how difficult it really is to construct a monster of this scale! First I came into the issue of making a scaled down hang glider, which was settled pretty easily after I bought a gigantic block of foam from Home Depot, shaved it down, and bam! I had a wing. But now, I’m stuck in the process of locating an engine, a receiver, servos (they make the plane go up and down), a transmitter to send info to the receiver (a remote), and I’m sure that something else will pop up. Anyway, I’ll let you all know how it turns out in the form of pictures / a youtube video by saturday of next week. (And no, this isn’t another empty promise like the documentary was, and I haven’t put that up yet because I won a state competition and am advancing to nationals, and I don’t want anyone taking my work.)

Thanks to all who read

A big R/C plane

Responses

  1. HA! I knew you weren’t going to be able to finish the plane. I hope the RC thing work for you, though.

  2. Very interesting!


Leave a Reply

Categories

